Afflecks Palace, Manchester city centre 

If you live in the United Kingdom and can make a trip to Manchester city centre, Afflecks Palace is the place to go for all your anime and manga merchandise needs! Located in the Northern Quarter (a district full of quirky and unique independent shops), the arcade boasts several little shops which offer a range of anime goods such as figurines, CD soundtracks, posters, cushions, bags, purses and more.



One shop I particularly love, and will undoubtedly continue to revisit is called Sunflower and is devoted to all things Studio Ghibli, with a huge range of quality merchandise that’s perfect for any fan or collector. Here’s a picture of my great haul below:

I particularly love this Kiki’s Delivery Service clutch bag I bought for myself which is an excellent quality. I expected the price to be at least £40 for such a good quality bag that’s also quite unique but it was only £18! The rose detailing is also on the back and I love the decoration on the front which resembles a Chinese comb.

If you’re looking for a good selection of anime merchandise, this is definitely a place worth checking out – and Forbidden Planet and Travelling Man are only a short walk away if you want to splurge even further!

Have you got any great UK anime shops to recommend? If so, leave a comment below!

